Note to Self re: Holiday Baking

Note to self: Next year buy all holiday baked goods from a bakery. It’s Christmas Eve and I am so baked-out that I can’t stand the thought of another cookie coming out of my oven. Yet here I sit while the world’s most complicated pumpkin pie bakes in my oven. To be fair it is a maple bourbon pumpkin pie with a chocolate crust and it is fantastic, not to mention impressive when shared.

xmascookies

In the beginning it was really fun to make and decorate these roll out sugar cookies whose recipe I pulled from Bon Apetit Magazine. But after 3 or 4 go-rounds with the decorating and the sprinkles and the massive cleanup that comes when you mix a little boy and too much sugar, I am worn out! Not to mention the shopping, the wrapping, and all the holiday cheer a mom is responsible for creating. If you find yourself with extra holiday stamina and you want to make a larger batch, go here for another excellent recipe that produces almost 60 cookies.

The above link is for the cookie dough only. For fool-proof icing click here then go wild with food coloring and sprinkles.

Lastly, I put myself over the edge by trying these Red and White Vanilla Pinwheels for the first time. Here they are straight out of the oven:

pinwheels

These pinwheels are nice but warning! They are very complicated to make.

These pinwheels are nice but warning! They are very complicated to make and don’t offer a whole lot of leeway when it comes to being able to walk away and take a break from the process. I should have walked away from the recipe that told me to roll out dough to be “about” 11.5″ x 5.5″. I actually got out a measuring tape. This, I feel, is just wrong.

Whatever it is that you did or did not bake this year, I wish you a happy and relaxing holiday. Merry Christmas!

Leave a comment