Carrot Ginger Soup


rainbowcarrots

Sometime last spring I planted a packet of seeds to grow some rainbow carrots. Most of the seeds sprouted, I got them into the ground in my meager little raised bed and then I kind of ignored them for months. Their greens grew bigger and bigger, my husband implored me to harvest them. I told him it could wait until fall. Finally one day I noticed the top of a big purple carrot poking out of the ground. I got my trowel and dug. Wow! Such beautiful colors. So many carrots. So. Many. Carrots. So many freaky, twisted, mutant looking carrots. So hard to peel. It seems only right that they are paired with another freaky, mutant-looking plant called ginger. Before all the carrots went limp sitting in my produce bin, I put together this lovely carrot ginger soup.

If you are a soup maker, I highly recommend getting a stick blender if you don’t already have one. Its about a million times easier to puree your soups with one. If you put hot soup in a blender to puree, the heat will create a volcano effect. You’ll open up the blender and your nice batch of pureed soup will explode all over your counters, your ceiling and best of all-on you!

carrotginger

  • 4 cups low-sodium vegetable broth, divided
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoons freshly grated ginger
  • 1 pound carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 1 medium Yukon gold potato, peeled and cut into 1-inch chunks
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice

Heat 1/2 cup broth to a simmer in a medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic and cook until tender, about 6 minutes, stirring occasionally. Stir in ginger, carrots, potato and remaining broth and heat to a boil. Reduce to a simmer, cover and cook 25 minutes or until vegetables are tender. If you have a stick blender, use it to puree the soup in the pan. If you don’t have a stick blender, let the mixture cool then, in batches, carefully puree in a blender. Add water or broth if needed to thin to desired consistency. Reheat soup if necessary. Stir in lemon juice.

Leave a Reply

