Peachy Jam Bars

peachyjam_webThings started going awry early on today. I woke up before my son and even felt rested. This made me hopeful that I could accomplish stuff. I wanted to cook a few things before it got too hot and these Peachy Jam Bars were high on my priority list. We haven’t had a proper dessert in the house in ages and I don’t count the juice on a stick in my freezer as a proper dessert. I took a shower, got myself and the boy dressed and fed. We took the dog for a walk. When we got back I started to make the bar batter  but halfway through the mixing of ingredients I realized I would never get them out of the oven in time to make it to the playdate at the park. In fact, I really didn’t have time to finish mixing it all up, get a park snack together and get out the door. Shortly after 10am and I’m already feeling rushed and lagging. Citing the overnight batter rule and how it makes cookies better, into the fridge went the unfinished batter and out the door we went to the park. Once we arrived back home all I had to do was mix in the oats and assemble everything in the pan.

I used peach preserves here but in the past I’ve used raspberry jam and blueberry preserves. Both taste great. Try it with your favorite jam but you may want to use cinnamon as a substitute for the ginger.

  • 1 13oz jar peach preserves
  • 1 ¾ cups all purpose flour or all purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • ¾ tsp salt
  • ¾ tsp baking soda
  • 1 ¾ cups old fashioned rolled oats – NOT instant
  • 2 sticks butter room temperature
  • 1 large egg beaten room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • vegetable oil or butter for greasing the pan

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease an 11×7 baking dish. Line it with parchment.

In a large bowl whisk together the dry ingredients; flour, ginger, salt, baking soda. Stir in the oats. Mix in the butter, egg and vanilla just until absorbed. If you are using a stand mixer, beat on low about 1 minute.

Press half the mixture into the prepared pan. Using a large spoon or spatula spread the filling over the crust but leave a half inch border from the edge. Cover with the remaining mixture. Bake for 30-35 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for 45 minutes. Cut into bars and store.

Leave a Reply

