Deviled Eggs and Disclosure

nursingmotherscookbook_fin4.jpgI feel I owe you full disclosure in the matter of things like this–I am not one of those moms who is so totally together that I’ve got my Easter recipes posted in time for you to plan and prepare to make them for the holiday. I am a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants mom who is showing you, after the fact, what I managed to pull off for the Easter egg hunt potluck brunch.

deviledeggs

Oh my! These are delicious. So fresh and light, I had to stop myself from sneaking a few of them before they got to the table. The lemon really brings to life the sense of the new season. I used fresh thyme here because I had some on hand but it was a little tedious separating the leaves from the stems. Dried thyme will work just as well.

You can cook the eggs in advance. The key to easy shell peeling is to start with the eggs and the water at the same temperature. Preferably your eggs should be room temp. but if you have cold eggs straight out of the fridge, make sure the water is equally cold.  Put the eggs in a saucepan,  cover them with 1 inch of water. Slowly bring the water to a boil and simmer them for 12 minutes.  Dump the hot water immediately and rinse with cool water. Peel right away.

Sour Cream, Lemon, and Herb Deviled Eggs

  • 6 hard-boiled eggs
  • 3 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3/4 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons finely grated lemon peel
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh lemon juice
  • Chopped fresh parsley or thyme

Shell eggs, then cut in half lengthwise. Transfer yolks to small bowl and mash with fork. Mix in sour cream, mayonnaise, and mustard. Stir in lemon peel, lemon juice, and cayenne pepper. Season generously with salt and pepper.

Spoon yolk mixture into whites. Sprinkle generously with chopped parsley or thyme. (Can be made 4 hours ahead. Cover loosely and refrigerate.)

Leave a Reply

