For the love of pancakes

We take our pancakes seriously in my house. When I make pancakes, I want to make sure the good feeling lasts for a few days so I always make enough to freeze. My recipe for excellent pancakes is simple: Bisquick. I’ve tried making my own from scratch but I can’t beat the consistency and ease of Bisquick. My secret is that I like to personalize the Bisquick pancake mix to suit my tastes which can be done in under a minute. Here’s how I do it: measure out the dry Bisquick. Add one or both of the following: a ½ tsp of cinnamon, a few dashes of nutmeg. Using a wire whisk, stir these in thoroughly. After you add the milk and eggs, mix in a ½ tsp of vanilla extract. Cook pancakes according to the directions on the box.


pancakes

Summer option: In summer I like to add the zest of a lemon or two and blueberries instead of the more wintery cinnamon/vanilla combo. Add the zest to the wet batter. If your blueberries are frozen, as mine usually are, drop them onto each pancake right after you’ve poured the batter onto the griddle. Fresh berries can be added to the batter and mixed in.

drop berries into the pancakes right after they hit the griddle

drop berries into the pancakes right after they hit the griddle

Once you’ve used all the batter to make pancakes and you’ve eaten your fill, let the uneaten pancakes cool on a wire rack.  Transfer them to a baking sheet and arrange them so they are not touching each other. Put the sheet with the pancakes in the freezer for an hour or so. I’ve been know to forget and leave them in the freezer all day, its not a problem. Once they are frozen, move them into a freezer bag and take them out next time you want pancakes. Reheat and enjoy. (I don’t have a microwave to I heat mine up in the toaster on low.)

If you have a more than one child or really really love pancakes, go ahead and double the Bisquick recipe.

As an added bonus: a frozen pancake is great for a teething baby to chew on. A room temperature pancake eaten out of hand without syrup makes a nice toddler snack.

Leave a Reply

