Butternut Squash Soup-liquid comfort

butternut squash soupThis past weekend was a trying one. I faced a triple threat of what happened on Friday in Connecticut (less than an hour from where I live), a cold wet and rainy weekend coupled with getting sick on Sunday. Yuck. Friday’s tragedy cast a big grey cloud over everything. I found myself sitting in my car sobbing when I heard the news and I still fight back tears every time I think about it or read some new story related to the victims. We may all be sad about this for a long time so let’s start with a little comfort food to take us through what we face right now. I’m talking about soup.

Normally I would start off with a perky and upbeat quip about how I found pre-cut butternut squash at the store and how much time that will save, which is all true. But that seems out of place here. What I will say is that soup, especially a nice warm creamy one like this, can provide a certain comfort in times when we are in need of physical and emotional soothing.

6 cups chicken stock

2-3 cups cubed Butternut squash

1 thinly sliced onion

1 garlic clove minced

½ tsp kosher salt

½ tsp dried thyme

5 peppercorns

½ cup heavy cream or sour cream

Combine stock, squash, onion, garlic, salt, thyme & peppercorns in a soup pot. Cover and bring to a boil. Remove lid and simmer for 40 minutes. Remove from heat.

Now you have 2 choices depending on what kitchen tools you have available. If you have a stick blender you can use that to puree the soup. If not, use a slotted spoon to remove the chunky bits of squash, puree it in a blender or food processor then return it to the soup. Stir in cream and serve.

Tip: If you plan on putting the leftovers in the freezer do not stir cream into the whole batch of soup as cream does not freeze well. Instead add a small amount to each bowl before you serve.

Leave a Reply

