Winter lentil salad

Last night as I was thinking about dinner I looked into my fridge and found a sad assortment of about-to-expire produce.  Foraging through the cupboards I came up with a few cans. By tossing some things together I came up with a surprisingly fresh and healthy salad which was a nice antidote to all the unhealthy holiday treats that keep appearing on my plate. A can of lentils, a can of corn, a can of butterbeans, half a red onion, some green onions and some fresh salsa came together nicely to make this winter salad. I found half a jar of roasted red bell pepper and threw those in too. Aside from being really easy, the best part was the leftovers I had for lunch today.

My husband likes to add  Asian hot sauce to this salad

My husband likes to add Asian hot sauce to this salad

Dressing

2 tbsp lemon juice

4 tbsp olive oil

2 cloves garlic, crushed

salt & pepper

1 (15oz) can lentils

1 (15oz) can corn

1 (15oz) can Butter beans

3 oz roasted red bell pepper in a jar (or 1 fresh roasted pepper) roughly chopped

½ large red onion, chopped

½ cup roughly chopped green onions

¼ cup chopped cilantro (optional)

salsa or hot sauce to taste

Do ahead:

In a small bowl, mix the lemon juice and olive oil. Crush the garlic and add it to the liquid. Add salt & pepper, mix and cover. Let sit until salad is ready, anywhere from ½ hour to 4 hours.

For the salad:

Drain and rinse all canned goods. Put them in a large bowl with peppers, onions and cilantro. Toss gently with dressing. Add salsa to meet your own tastes.

Leave a Reply

