Hmmm…that looks suspiciously healthy

“That looks healthy” said my friend, who is a mom, in a tone that was not disapproving but was not exactly filled with enthusiasm either. She was looking at the cookie I was offering her which I baked from a recipe in Food & Wine Magazine. I was attracted to the recipe because it had the promise of simplicity-just three ingredients. And none of the ingredients were wheat or dairy; just granola, chocolate peanut butter (which, according to Food & Wine is one item) and egg. This chocolate peanut butter stuff is nothing I’ve ever encountered before and was not readily available at the Fishkill Shoprite-go figure. Maybe I could have tried the upscale natural market, but going to 2 stores for a 3 ingredient recipe seemed to be defeating the purpose. So I used half Nutella and half Jif. Since I make my own granola I was easily able to have one cup of granola without dried fruit and another cup of granola with the fruit of my choice. Using a sweet fruit like dried cherries makes these cookies come alive.

2 cups of granola, 1 without any dried fruit

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup Nutella

1 egg

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Put one cup of granola without fruit in a food processor and pulse until it becomes very fine. In a mixer blend the ground granola, the remaining cup of granola with its dried fruit, peanut butter, Nutella and egg on low speed until blended. Shape into balls and press onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment or a Silpat. Using the back of a fork, flatten the balls into 3 inch rounds. Bake for 12-15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

