Hummus

Hummus is another one of those I-can’t-believe-it’s-so-easy-why-haven’t-I’been-making-this-my-whole-life foods. What I give you here is a basic template for plain hummus, add any flavorful ingredients you like as you see fit. I like to use extra garlic and I’ve been known to add in fresh basil or roasted red peppers.

This recipe makes a boatload of hummus, perfect for the Come See the Baby  crowd or to take some to a neighbor as a gift.

2-15oz cans of chickpeas

4 cloves garlic

2/3 cup tahini

1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

In a food processor, combine the first 6 ingredients blending until smooth. Add salt to taste.

Leave a Reply

