Yellow Squash Soup

August is here. The weather is so horribly sticky hot and miserable that I cannot bear to cook. Fortunately the farmer’s markets are bursting with beautiful vegetables and leafy greens that require a only minimum of prep work. The low labor quotient is what I love about this soup-simple ingredients, very few steps and you can serve it cool.

After I picked up some beautiful yellow squash at the farmer’s market this morning, I turned to an old recipe scrapbook of mine to find this recipe. I have this scrapbook from when I first taught myself how to cook. Its filled with photocopies of recipes from food magazines, roommates’ cookbooks, and newspaper clippings. I spent 10 years filling this thick little book with food memories of wonderful meals shared with friends and roommates from my time in San Francisco. Back then, I lived in a flat with 3 other people and a huge eat-in kitchen which was the center of life in the house. We had a small library of cookbooks thanks to years of revolving door roommates and I would go through them until I found something interesting that I felt my limited skill set could handle. Then I would go to one of the many local farmer’s markets and pick up what I needed. Everyone in my house benefitted from my learning to cook phase through group meals and copious leftovers.

On hot August days in New York like today when I’m dripping sweat at 9:30 am, I think longingly of all those foggy evenings of food and friends in San Francisco.

Yellow squash soup

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 ½ lbs yellow squash

2 tbsp finely chopped chives

3 ½ cups chicken stock

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

½ cup sour cream

¼ tsp salt

¼ tsp white pepper

Heat the olive oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the squash and chives and sautee until just softened, about 3 minutes. Add the chicken stock and simmer for about 5 minutes.

Place in a blender or food processor or use a stick blender to puree the mixture. Refrigerate until cool.

Whisk in the lemon juice, sour cream, salt and pepper until well combined. Taste for seasoning.

Ladle into soup bowls and garnish with a dollop of sour cream and a sprinkling of chives.

This soup is attributed to Dianne Rossen Worthington but I have no idea which cookbook I copied it from. Forgive me Diane!

Leave a Reply

